Week 2: Disembodiment, Ubiquity, War Profiteering and Soup

tele.jpg

I came to the party a little late. Everyone’s already drunk on memes and daring each other to go on 4chan. I heard there was even cake in my tutorial. Obviously I’m pretty sad that I missed that, but luckily I didn’t miss anything with the online lecture videos.

I love the internet, I’d say most of us do, and I find the origins of the superhighway, the birth of ‘information age’ incredibly interesting. Though some stuff from the lecture I knew, most I didn’t. What has occurred to me strongly during the online lecture is a sense of a return, a re-revolution. As described by Professor Mitew, the invention and the implementation of the telegraph was a step towards the implementation of the information society. For the first time communication was removed from the physical. Though still incredibly dependent on physical infrastructure, the message itself became a series of electrical impulses that could be sent almost instantaneously.

This disembodiment, as well as causing its share of mystification and confusion, is the first step toward the internet as we know it today – an internet that is coming back from the digital to the physical. The internet of things, as it is known, is the movement from the digital to the physical. Where once we were amazed by our ability to turn a letter into a signal, we are now fascinated with turning the signal into a physical manipulation or even the real world manifestation of something once intangible.

Aaaand I’m out of words.

One thought on “Week 2: Disembodiment, Ubiquity, War Profiteering and Soup

  1. You are no the only one late to the party – so am I! I am also grateful for the lecture recordings. Your discussion of how we are still incredibly dependent on physical infrastructure, namely the message itself, rings McLuhan Bells. And although it is not a concept presently discussed in this class, it underpins all that we study. Hope you are having as much fun as I am catching up ;P

Leave a Reply

