Week 7: Taking a Byte

1bm6go.jpg

I’m no fan of apple. I’ll be the first to admit that maybe I even have a little bit of a problem with my rampant Apple prejudice. That said, I’m not evangelical about it. I don’t lecture my apple friends about their iPhone or their shitty, overpriced macbooks. I try not to be a tech supremacist…

Even though people who have apple products never really own them. Even though they’re overpriced garbage designed to keep you trapped, with the longevity and pre-ordained obsolescence of a digital may fly, I try not to be too high and mighty. Even though the very fundamentals of the Apple philosophy is one of restriction and exclusivity and a challenge to this can get your iproduct remotely disabled, I try not to get too preachy.

Also, I have something else I want to talk about. The Social Contract.

Now, I know what you’re thinking; “this guy’s bonkers. Ted didn’t make a political philosophy class”. Well, I have a theory he did (he literally said ‘the means of production in the moodle description for the iFeudals week), or maybe it’s just that the digital world is following the same progress to the development of early society.

I’ll be brief, but all you need to know is that some classical scholars, such as Hobbes, Locke and Kant, basically theorized that to escape ultimate freedom (which is the natural, chaotic order of the world), humanity sacrificed their natural rights to submit to social cohesion and society. Essentially, we choose to obey laws to avoid lawlessness.

Now, what if people do the same for the iPhone? Yeah, sure, people have more freedom with Android or any of the other 3rd party phone OSs, but refuse these and instead choose the order and stability of iOS.

Maybe I’m reading too much into this…

One thought on “Week 7: Taking a Byte

  1. Interesting post! I’d like to see some more examples of why you dislike Apple’s operating system so much, as opposed to Android. What makes Windows so much better in your opinion? Or is it because it’s the next option apart from Apple and Android? Do you dislike Android? I’d like to know more!

Leave a Reply

